Join Cat in the Hat on Four Different Adventures in the Wild!

All the books in this collection include plenty of fun facts like this.

Cat in the Hat is a well-known children’s book series written by Theodor Geisel under the pen name Dr. Seuss. The Cat and his companions, Thing One and Thing Two, often show Sally and Dick many great things that amaze them.

In my app pick for today, the Cat takes the siblings to explore our world through four different adventures. It’s a collection of four storybooks: three of them have been released as independent apps previously, and one is making its first appearance on the iPad through this collection. The collection is called In the Wild! Learning Library Collection (Dr. Seuss/Cat in the Hat).

In the Wild Collection: Four Storybooks in One App

The first book in this collection is titled Safari So Good. It’s also the only book that has never been available on the iPad previously.

In this book, the Cat takes kids to Africa where they will meet hippos, lions, leopards, elephants, rhinos, and zebras. They will bound to learn new facts like how a cheetah can run up to 70 mph, and how one can identify an impala based on the markings on its behind.

The second book is titled If I Ran the Rain Forest. The Cat takes kids on a tour through a tropical rain forest from top to bottom. They will find a 300-foot tree that emerges on top of a rain forest canopy, meet with a carnivorous plant who lures insects into its trap, and play a mini game where they identify the animals who try to camouflage themselves.

In the third book called On Beyond Bugs, the Cat takes kids to learn about insects. They will learn about the common characteristics of all insects and why spiders are not insects. They will also learn about how a caterpillar turns into a butterfly, and how an army of bees work to collect honey and protect their queen.

In the last book, called Miles and Miles of Reptiles, the Cat takes kids to explore the world of reptiles. They will meet lizards, snakes, and turtles. They will learn how to distinguish a crocodile from an alligator, and which color a chameleon would change its skin given a particular situation.

My favorite scene in this entire collection is when the Cat, Sally and Dick scream, “Save the rainforest!”

Parents Need to Know

All the books in this collection are suitable for early readers ages four and up. They come with two reading modes: Read to Me and Read Myself.

As kids read, they can tap on any object on the page to learn what it’s called, or on any word to hear it pronounced. Some scenes may include a word in bold or colored labels, which they can tap to see a popup containing more information about the word.

The app also allows you to record your own narration. It’s perfect if you want to add more information that’s easier for your kids to relate to. But, keep in mind that each book has plenty of pages, and most kids would not be able to finish it in a single seating.

The books contain plenty of enlightening facts explained in a kid-friendly way.

Things I Like

The first thing I like about Dr. Seuss’ works is how he structured the story such that each paragraph has its own rhyme. I also like how readers can interact with any part of the app, from the text to the pictures. It’s really helpful for early readers who are curious about every little thing on screen.

Content-wise, the books are amazing. They are full of great facts organized in a kid-friendly way. I learned a lot reading through these books. Here are some of the facts I enjoyed the most:

  • The black spots in leopards come in a circular pattern called rosettes.
  • One of the elephant’s tusks can be longer than the other.
  • Zebras sleep standing up.
  • Ants can lift things up to ten times their weight.

And my favorite scene is when the Cat, Sally and Dick encounter a group of men who are cutting down trees and clearing out rain forests. It’s a great way to introduce kids to the bad impact and dangers of such actions.

This is a great example of fun facts that I’d never learn otherwise.


In the Wild! Learning Library Collection (Dr. Seuss/Cat in the Hat) is a great collection of storybooks that explore our world in a kid-friendly way. Kids aged four and up can learn about various habitats, animals, and plants. Parents can also pick up a fun fact or two as they read along with their kids.

Get it on the App Store: iPhone | iPad

App was provided for our honest review.